Orange Soup

On a lighter note than yesterday…

Sweet Potato Soup with toast

One of the things I wanted to do more of is cook. I don’t mind cooking, but I tend to stick with a few recipes and rarely branch out. When I go out to eat, it’s a totally different story. I love to try new things, especially if I can steal I bite off a friend’s plate before I order it myself.

When I do cook at home, there are a few things I look for:

  • Quick: It’s one thing to spend a few hours making cookies on a Saturday. On a weeknight, I would rather spend my time watching TV, reading, going to the gym or writing.
  • Easy: Similarly, I like recipes with a few ingredients and simple preparation. I don’t mind using new ingredients, but rare or overly expensive ingredients are more of a pain than they’re usually worth for me.
  • Vegetarian: No, I’m not a strict vegetarian (although I have a feeling the people who keep taking my soy mocha orders think I must be a vegan). I enjoy a cheeseburger as much as the next person, and I’m addicted to tuna melts. I don’t usually keep meat in the house, partly because (1) I forget about it and it sits in my freezer for two months and (2) it creeps me out to have a rotting corpse in my fridge. Therefore, recipes without meat are preferable, but not necessary.

On that note, I found a recipe for Sweet Potato Soup that fits all these criteria.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes
  • dash of salt
  • a few drops of hot sauce

-Dice the potatoes, then bring them to a boil in the broth. Turn to medium high and boil for about 8 minutes. Then turn off the burner and put a lid on the pan. Leave on burner with lid for about 10-15 more minutes (until potatoes are nice and soft).

-Use either an immersion blender or potato masher in the soup. I left some chunks in, but you can get it completely smooth if you want.

-Add salt and hot sauce to taste.

-I found that to make it a more complete meal, adding some type of bread was very yummy to dip in the soup.

**Recipe from The Big Green Cookbook**

One thought on “Orange Soup

Leave a Reply

