Reflections Of A Year

Hello, May. It’s nice to see you again. I know you’re almost done, but it hit me today how much my life has changed since the last time you were around. Through the past year, briefly…

I wrote a thesis, had mono, held four different jobs (five if you count a recent house sitting adventure), lived in three (or four depending on how you count) different states, and learned how to make eggplant parmasan.

I graduated college. I got a full time job. I moved half-way across the continent, which sounds more dramatic than saying I moved half-way across the country. I did that move with only what would fit in my car. Everything else went happily to Goodwill.

I had a dog for a week, then gave her back when I realized I was not the right home for her.

More recently, I started volunteering at an animal shelter, joined a book club, found out I’m going to be an aunt, and resolved to get in better shape. I’ve been watching a lot of old movies (why had I never seen The Philadelphia Story, Roman Holiday, The Maltese Falcon or Bringing Up Baby???). I bought that car that brought me to Virginia. Her name is Anita. She squeaks when it rains. It rains a lot here.

After all of the craziness of the past 12 months, suddenly I have a lot less insanity in my daily life. I know where my next paycheck will come from. I suddenly have a mechanic, veterinarian, hair stylist. Thank goodness I can stop searching for those thing every few months!

And yet, I’ve been somewhat unhappy the past bit. I started reading The Happiness Project (both the book and the blog)

That small matter has put a rather serious damper on life in general. I’ve put some thought into the matter, and while I’m having a hard time articulating the whole problem, but I have discovered that part of my unhappiness has sprung from not pursing my creative interests outside of work.

So, I decided to start a project for the month of June. I will post one photo each day. I’m not binding myself to a particular theme or level of quality, but I will post one photo every day. Due to some traveling, I might not actually get to post them on the day I take them, but I will still post 30 different posts, one with each photo.

Stay tuned for a lot more blog posts along with more reflections on steps I plan to and do take to increase my daily happiness as I tackle life after college.

2 thoughts on “Reflections Of A Year

Leave a Reply

