Change Your Attitude

Look at your life from a different angle today.

When you feel crummy about life—about your job, about your relationships, about your home—life will give you back exactly what you put into it: crumminess.

While it’s not easy to change your outlook, it doesn’t hurt to try, right?

It’s no secret among my family and friends that I’ve had a tough couple of weeks. I was not in a good place emotionally or mentally, and my physical health was certainly suffering as well as I indulged in ice cream and avoided the gym.

Nothing was making me happy, even the things that normally cheer me up. I didn’t want to read or write or go to work or go to the gym. Sitting was annoying. Moving was annoying. Everything was just plain pissing me off, and I ended up spending a lot of time complaining on the phone to the wonderful people who put up with me for no good reason.

Then, over the past week or so, I gave myself an attitude check. Actually, I gave myself a life check.

Why was I unhappy? Where am I at right now, and where do I want to be? What about my situation can I change to feel more fulfilled?

And guess what. Things started happening. As I started thinking about my life in terms of the person I want to be and the person I know I really am instead of the person I’ve become, doors started opening to places I didn’t realize existed.

No matter what you call it, karma is a powerful thing. Be prepared to get back whatever you put into the universe. If you open yourself to possibilities, opportunities will arise. All you have to do is say yes, and that opportunity becomes an experience.

What kind of person do you want to be? What can you do today to become that person, even if it’s just for a few minutes? It takes practice to make it a habit, but it’s worth it. Write yourself a sticky note to remind yourself to smile. Text someone you love that you hope they have a great day. Take a walk over your lunch break and wander through a new store. Email or call someone you haven’t talked to in more than a month. Look for opportunities to get involved in your community–volunteer, even for just an hour a week or every other week.

Know that your life is just as wonderful as you’d always hoped it would be.

Leave a Reply

