Lazy Girl Cooks: Sweet Potato Fries

I secretly love the hot, greasy, salty McD’s fries as much as the next person.

But let’s face it, they are questionable in nutritional value (they have none) and they require getting in the car and driving all the way to the golden arches.

Luckily, I found something I like even better and requires between one and four ingredients, depending on your preference:

Sweet Potato Fries.

Drooling already? Yeah, me too.

They are healthy, delicious and criminally easy.

  • 0. Set oven to 350 degrees F.
  • 1. Peel sweet potato.

    Take one sweet potato. It’s yummy.

  • 2. Cut it up however you want. You really can do this however you want, but the trick is to try to make them about the same size so they bake evenly. I prefer to cut the potato into quarters and then slice them from the tip down. Then they’re even kinda shaped like fries.
  • 3. Put them on some surface that is okay to hang out in the oven for about half an hour: 9X13 pan, cookie sheet, pizza pan… you get the idea.

    Lay the slices on a oven-safe surface. Today I used a 9X13 cake pan.

  • 4. Put them in the oven and go watch TV, read a book or clean up your kitchen (for me that means cleaning a cereal bowl and coffee mug). Twenty minutes later, poke a fry or two with a fork.
  • 4a. If they are not soft, leave them in for anther 5-10 minutes.
  • 5. Remove from oven, sprinkle with salt and/or pepper. I actually skip the salt and pepper because I found I don’t like them any better with the seasoning, but if you do, go for it!
  • 6. Eat them plain or dipped in Ranch dressing (my favorite!!!) or ketchup.
  • 7. Feel great that you ate your veggies and learned how to make possibly the easiest recipe in the world that involves a knife and the oven. I think making toast is more involved than sweet potato fries.

    Yum…

As most people know, I am a terrible cook. Mostly, I’ve discovered, because I just don’t care about the outcome. I don’t like spending a lot of time on one dish, and I’m not all that adventurous when it comes to cooking. (When eating, on the other hand, I’m more than happy to try just about anything.)

Leave a Reply

