Lazy Girl Cooks: Magaricz

Magaricz is great on bread, pita, tortillas and chips.

When a friend gave me some eggplant, I decided I wasn’t up for making eggplant pamasen. A quick Google search landed me at a recipe for magaricz, which I had never heard up. Apparently, it’s a Russian dip and very yummy.

Here’s what you do:

  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1 large eggplant, peeled and chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 green bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 cup coarsely shredded carrot
  • salt to taste
  • crushed red pepper flakes to taste

1. place eggplant in colander, lightly salt, leave to drain for 45 minutes

2. heat oil over medium/high heat, add veggies and stir. Reduce heat to low for 40 minutes until it looks like jam, season to taste.

3. cover and chill for 1 hour, serve as dip with chips or bread

This was so delicious and so easy to make, but the next time I make it, I’m going to make a few adjustments.

First, draining the eggplant seemed to do absolutely nothing.

Also, I might try to cut up all the veggies beforehand to save some time.

I didn’t actually use it as dip, but if I was going to, I would dice the peppers instead of slicing them. Instead, I made up some burritos. With the leftovers, I topped a baked potato, which was delicious.

What qualifies this as a lazy girl recipe: despite the prep and cook time, it’s very easy; just put it in the pan and basically forget it for 40 minutes.

Also, the ingredients are simple to pick out—there’s no trick to these veggies.

Finally, the ingredients are readily available and inexpensive. With buying everything plus tortillas but not the eggplant, I spent about $5 and got about 4 meals.

Leave a Reply

