Taking A Day Off

Taking a day off in the middle of the week is one of my favorite things to do after a crazy couple of weeks.

Today, I slept until I woke up. I drank a cold glass of water and ate toast while I made a list of things to do today. A hot shower and casual clothes put me in the perfect mood to head to Panera for a cup of coffee and some online chores I needed to do. I picked a place to meet a friend later this afternoon, sorted through photos from the past 18 months and chose the ones I want to print out for my photo album.

Next, I’ll head to drop some things off for donation, buy groceries for the next week and then hopefully pick up my photos.

I have book club this evening, then it will be back to work tomorrow.

Yes, this sounds a bit like a To Do List. However, it feels so nice to do all of these things, every element of the day, with clarity, purpose and mindfulness. I have no need to rush or hurry. When my laptop decided to have a small fit, it’s no big deal. I patiently waited for it to catch up, then restarted. I can people watch while I type this and listen to music.

While I enjoy going to work, taking a personal day after a few weeks of constant work for long hours has a way of mellowing me out, recharging my brain and making me ready to tackle the next challenge.

Balance. A friend once told me that was my word. Even though I didn’t understand at the time, the more time that passes, the more I realize that my quest for balance among every aspect of my life is my guiding principle. Too much of any one thing in my life is not good. I need balance. I need a variety of things to keep my mind fresh. And lately, there’s been a little too much work. So today I’m evening the score. I’m tipping the scale in the other direction, taking things slow, relaxing and regrouping.

If you have had a little too much of one thing in your life, try to tip the balance back for a bit. Sometimes it’s the best thing you can do for yourself.

Leave a Reply

