A Typical Thanksgiving Day Post

I went through a phase in college where every time I started feeling depressed or overwhelmed, I forced myself to quickly rattle off five things for which I was thankful. It gave me great perspective and helped me get past the moment.

Today is the first major holiday I’ve spent away from my family, and that’s hard. I miss them, even though around this time I’d be wishing I had thought to bring a bottle of pre-dinner wine. So today seems like a good opportunity to quickly rattle off five things for which I’m thankful:

  1. My cat. He keeps my lap warm when I’m sitting on the couch, and he’s always happy to see me (unless I’m carrying his flea medication).
  2. Hot water. This time of year when the chill starts to creep into my bones, I can’t quite imagine life without a hot shower.
  3. My family. They are so supportive, so loving, so giving.
  4. My friends. No matter their geographical proximity, my friends bring me so much joy. I’m so lucky to have so many people in my life who are dear to my heart.
  5. My health. Bad eyesight and (occasionally) bum knee aside, I’m so thankful to be free of recurring medical issues.

I could go on and on, but I won’t. If I thought longer about it, I’m sure I would start listing things like sunshine, rain, books, computers, warm blankets, the smell of something baking in the oven, coffee…

When you start to feel down, quick, list five things you are thankful for. Don’t think about your reasons, don’t spend hours doing it. Think about it while you’re brushing your teeth, while you’re waiting for water to boil, while you’re driving to work. What are you thankful for at this very moment?

Leave a Reply

