Unraveling

Since deciding my word for 2013 is Embrace (yes, I always think of it as a proper noun), I've been drawing this obsessively on post-it's the back of my hand and even my bathroom mirror. It reminds me to seek and say yes to Life (which I've also started thinking of as a proper noun).

Since deciding my word for 2013 is Embrace (yes, I always think of it as a proper noun), I’ve been drawing this obsessively on post-it’s the back of my hand and even my bathroom mirror. It reminds me to seek and say yes to Life (which I’ve also started thinking of as a proper noun).

I’ve always been a big fan of New Year’s Resolutions, but in practice, they often fall short. My attention span simply does not last for an entire year, and life shifts and changes enough that my original goals are often obsolete by June.

Instead, checking in every few months has proven a better way to make sure I am on the path I want.

But a few weeks ago, I saw a link on Susannah Conway’s workbook on her blog about Unravelling 2013. (Because she’s British, she Unravelled instead of Unraveled.) My interest was piqued.

I did just what the instructions said: I gathered a cup of coffee, a pen I like to write with, a notebook (I didn’t print out the pages).

As I worked through the questions, I came up with just as many questions as answers. And yet, I found myself with many answers as well, answers that have eluded me over the past few months.

The most exciting thing was to decide my word for 2013. As part of the project, you pick one word you want to define the year ahead. It should be something that excites, relieves and inspires you. It took me about 10 minutes of contemplating before I settled on my word.

Embrace.

This is not a passive word. This is an active, conscious way to look at the world. To me, it implies going out in search of life. It isn’t sitting on the sidelines, waiting for something to come along. Embrace is an action.

This past year has been taxing, certainly. As much as it’s been one big, crazy adventure after another, it’s also been a stressful, overwhelming, uncertain time in my life.

Looking forward, I don’t want to ever have another year like this. I want to take the things I’ve learned and move forward. I’m sick of standing still, of being on pause.

Unraveling 2013 was, in a lot of ways, like writing fiction. The pages ask for things like big dreams, secret wishes. It’s uncomfortable until you just let go and write. Once you turn off that constant editor, that voice in the back of your mind telling you it can’t be done, that it just won’t happen, the words started flowing from my fingertips describing what I want out of the next 12 months.

It made me think, really think, about what I want and how I can get there, and because my attention span can be somewhat (ok, very) fleeting, I can unravel the year as many times as I need. Maybe I’ll even need a different word in a few months. That’s ok.

I don’t know what 2013 holds, but I know that I’m not going to figure it out the way I’ve been dealing with things lately, which is to not deal with them. No, I’m ready to wake up and Embrace.

One thought on “Unraveling

  1. Pingback: Finding Fearless | megan unedited

Leave a Reply

