The 2013 Book Project

All the books I'm bound and determined to read sooner rather than later.

All the books I’m bound and determined to read sooner rather than later.

It seems as though the action of flipping the calendar from December to January prompts many people to reflect on what they have read, will read and want to read. Courtney Carter at Be More With Less put together The Ultimate Book List and my friend Kate vowed to read 36,500 pages in 2013.

To top it off, a quick inventory of my bookshelves made me realize I have 15 (!!!) books I’ve borrowed, purchased or received as gifts but haven’t read yet. Maybe that doesn’t seem like a lot, but just a year ago, I read all the books I owned or had borrowed but hadn’t read yet. How does a person accumulate so many books in just a few short months but not feel compelled to curl up on the couch and actually crack a spine???

To top it off, my minimalist tendencies inspired me a few months ago to start keeping tabs on what books I’ve read or haven’t read since I moved to Virginia in February 2012. I have nothing against keeping books. I love books. I love to read. But I have a real problem with keeping books in my house that do not regularly serve a purpose.

Sooo… between the books I haven’t read since moving to Virginia and the books I’ve acquired and not read, I came up with a grand total of 20 books.

And I’m going to read them all.

The real question: after reading them all, how many will get passed along, and how many will receive a more permanent spot in my home?

Book reviews to come. Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “The 2013 Book Project

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Color Of My Words | megan unedited

  2. I read this earlier but didn’t comment, but just wanted to say that I’ve been loving reading your reviews and can’t wait to see what’s next on your list! Hope all is well 🙂

    • Hi Kate! I’m glad you’re enjoying them! I got all excited about the project earlier this year, but now I’ve had a lapse in reading. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to get back into it soon!

Leave a Reply

