West Virginia Is F-ing With Me And Other Adventures From The Road

Apparently I didn’t pay good enough attention when I plotted my route, because I’m pretty sure I entered West Virginia three different times today. I’m still not sure how that happened, and maybe I was imagining it (but it was definitely at least twice!). But by the third time, when I thought I was about to drive into Ohio, I seriously started having a mental breakdown in the car.

Thankfully, “Thrift Shop” came on the radio about that time, and my mood was instantly improved.

My day started earlier than I expected. I woke up at 6 and couldn’t get everything I needed to do out of my head. Final preparations went more quickly than expected, so I said goodbye to my aunt, who stayed the night to graciously help me pack, and hit the road by 9. Although most of my stuff fit into my car, a few unexpected things got left behind and donated to my aunt. Up until this morning, I was still considering shipping things directly from Virginia, but I’m glad I didn’t. I love the fact that everything I own fits in my car.

The drive was great–bright and sunny all day! And the cat did amazing! He was blissfully quiet and seemed mostly content all day. I tried to take pictures of all the welcome signs, but Pennsylvania snuck up on me, so please excuse the exclusion!

Saturday, By The Numbers:

  • States: 5 (not counting the multiple West Virginias)
  • Miles Driven: 462
  • Caffeinated Beverages: 2
  • States in the License Plate Game: 36, plus D.C. and Ontario
  • Time on the Road: Almost exactly 8 hours.
Leave a Reply

