The Texas Files

Step 1: Move to new city.

Step 2: Start new job right before a major company-sponsored event.

Step 3: Blindly go through life without having a handle on anything until finally finding a few minutes to breathe normally.

Done.

Okay, now for the real updates on life:

It’s been just shy of two months since I moved to Fort Worth, and life has been a little crazy, to say the least. However, I’ve received multiple requests for some kind of acknowledgement that I’m still alive, and here it is.

I started my new job only a few days before one of two major horse shows my organization puts on each year. I hit the ground running, but it was so much fun to jump in with both feet. Thankfully, I interned here for a summer during college, so the transition was much smoother than it would have been if not for that experience.

Luckily, my sister spent a couple weeks here, and she was ridiculously helpful. We found a great apartment really quickly, and I was lucky to move in within a few days. This is the first time I’ve lived in a normal apartment complex, and I love the perks like the pool and fitness center. I have a little balcony from which I’m currently writing, and when it’s not too hot, Oedipus likes to sit outside with me.

I’m slowly settling into my space, but because I don’t really have furniture, I’m enjoying the big open feeling of the whole place. I finally bought a bed the last week, which will be a big step up from the air mattress I’ve been using. I can’t wait for it to get delivered.

Overall, I’m feeling relatively settled into life here, and after the craziness of the transition from Virginia to Texas, I’ve loved staying off the grid as much as possible and spending time doing, well, nothing.

However, now that I’ve had several weeks to recuperate, I’m looking forward to doing more exploring and re-exploring of the area. Hopefully that will also involve some more blog posts.

Kitchen with ridiculously tall bar.

Kitchen with ridiculously tall bar.

An amazing reminder every time I come and go.

An amazing reminder every time I come and go.

I finally got around to hanging photos.

I finally got around to hanging photos.

My very simple living room.

My very simple living room.

The view from my balcony.

The view from my balcony.

Leave a Reply

