Lazy Girl Cooks: The Best Sautéed Carrots You Will Ever Eat. Seriously.

Ruining the nutritional value of carrots is the best way to go!

Ruining the nutritional value of carrots is the best way to go!

Since my sister gave me this recipe a few months ago, I make it just about once a week, it’s that good.

To be fair, this is not really a vegetable. No, this is butter and sugar disguised with a hit of something that was once healthy, so don’t think this is some health nut thing. This is desert. I usually eat the whole mess in one sitting and call it dinner.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 pound baby carrots
  • 3 Tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1 heaping Tablespoon brown sugar
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Here’s what you do:

  1. First, slice all your carrots length-wise. After nearly taking off a couple fingers, I found that if I put the tip of the knife on the cutting board and then pivot it down along the carrot, I’m less likely to require stitches.
  2. Next, melt the butter over medium heat in a large skillet.
  3. Add the brown sugar and carrots, and stir until everything is good and coated. Salt liberally and stir some more.
  4. Cover, and cook for about 20-25 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so, until the carrots are tender. If they start looking a little blackened, turn down the heat. (This should be obvious; it was not to me. That’s why I need recipes with so few steps!)
  5. Pepper liberally. Stir the whole thing up and enjoy!

With the exception of slicing the carrots, this is one of the most perfect Lazy Girl Cooks recipes ever. I can start it on the stove when I first get home and go about changing out of work clothes, petting the cat, putting in laundry, etc., and I barely have to do a thing. It goes great as a side dish (if you’re into that whole motivated cooking thing), and it isn’t bad microwaved the next day as leftovers.

Leave a Reply

