What’s The Day Again?

According to the NaNoWriMo website, I’m supposed to reach 25,000 words today. I am still safely at 17,208, the same I was on day three.

Here’s the problem: I get up, shower, experience mild road rage, work for hours and hours and hours, fight stronger road rage, and collapse into bed. I’ve been doing this for 10 days. It’s great.

But it’s not conducive to successfully writing a novel. It’s better suited for coffee. Lots and lots of coffee.

I had such good plans to wax poetic in this blog about character development, the daily struggles of a writer, balancing work and novel creation. But sleep is oh-so-important to functioning during the APHA World Championship Show (I don’t even want to know how many times I’ve typed that over the past two weeks).

I’m not giving up. But I concede that while Novembers continue to be this insane (they will be for as long as I’m at this job), NaNoWriMo might not be for me. <gasp>

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go fight road rage, work for a very long time, then collapse into bed and not think again today about NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

