Today IS The Day

Yesterday was not the day to do much of anything other than the necessary steps to get through the day. That is, inhale, exhale. Repeat until death.

Today is much more than that though. Today is a day of embracing life, working with gusto and tackling everything in my path with fierce enthusiasm.

And after taking a much-needed break yesterday, this feels awesome.

But that’s not the point of this blog. The point is that sometimes, breaking out of our normal day-to-day habits opens us up to a world of possibilities and it reminds me of how blessed (not a word I use lightly) I am.

Last week, I had an opportunity to sit down with a woman who was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis when she was younger than I am now.

And holy crap is that woman an inspiration! She reminded me over and over and over during our conversation and later when I was transcribing and yet again as I work on the story how precious life is. The future is uncertain. But she is getting after life right now.

It’s a lesson commonly found in stories of people with serious disabilities, serious diagnosis. And that’s a problem. Why can’t more people embrace the beauty of life, revel in the uniqueness of every single moment?

Anything can happen. Anything can happen.

Why not make today the absolute best day of my life?

Leave a Reply

