Living Life In Surprise

I’ve said a lot lately that my grass is very green right now. For as many things as I occasionally think, “This could be better,” there are many more that could never be as perfect.

For the past 36 hours, give or take, I’ve had the joy of getting to know my niece, Moonflower (obviously not her real name).

At 12 weeks old, Moonflower lives her life in surprise. Her eyebrows go up, her eyes widen and her mouth forms a gaped-open ‘O.’ She is surprised when the light turns on, surprised when something makes a noise, surprised at noises and textures and everything the world has to offer. She’s not scared or apprehensive or even a little bit frightened by the big, wide world. She only has delighted surprise.

So now I’m sitting in a quiet house, the only noises the typing of my keyboard and the tick of the clock on the wall. Today, I choose to live my life like Moonflower: in delighted surprise at every turn.

Let’s be real—my grass is very green. I have a generous family who welcomes me into their homes for the holidays, friends who care enough to carve time out of their days to see me, a good job that I enjoy, I’m healthy… the list goes on and on.

And right now, I get to drink a delicious cup of coffee, slowly get ready for the day, and live life in surprise at all of these wonderful things.

Who could ask for more?

Leave a Reply

