I Didn’t Finish My Novel (Duh)

After claiming I was going to track my month of insanity doing NaNoWriMo and… well, EVERYTHING ELSE, I figure it’s only fair to give a wrap-up of my novel experience this year.

Obviously, I didn’t finish it. I didn’t even close to finish it. After the first few days of great progress, I stopped dead and wrote barely another word.

The Good:

  • I really, really like my characters. They are super cool, and I want to spend more time with them in the future.
  • It helped me get my mind unfocused from another project I’m working on, which I’m now more excited about revisiting.
  • The plot was so different from my normal that I got a giant kick out of playing around with the way it wall worked. My inner conspiracy theorist came out in force!

The Bad:

  • I don’t think I planned far enough in advance for the plot. I had no idea how it was all going to come together, so it was a bit directionless at the end. I need more practice as plotting out that kind of story.
  • I had virtually no time to work on it once the World Show started, and that burnt me out. So once I had a bit more time at the end, I had absolutely no desire or inspiration to work on it.

Will I do this again next year? The jury’s still out. I wonder if NaNoWriMo has run it’s course in my life and development as a writer. I’m so used to doing it that it seems odd not to, but it’s also such a crazy month (not that any other month is really any better).

Leave a Reply

