Love Affair

As many of you know, I don’t own a television. What you don’t know is that a few days ago I gave up all TV and movies at my house.

For about a day it felt oddly quiet in my apartment, but then a deep sense of peace settled in, and the most amazing thing began: I started a love affair with my own home.

Suddenly, my apartment feels luxurious, calm, intimate. It’s suddenly easy to keep it clean, and I really notice when it’s not. I can’t wait to come home and have this quiet time. Any moment in my apartment is better than every moment in the rest of my day.

What have I been doing instead of watching an endless sting of movies, helpfully supplied for free by the local library? I’ve been reading a lot, working my way through a stack of books I’ve been meaning to read for months. I’ve been writing more, sleeping more, playing with the dog and cat more, working out more, cooking more.

It’s funny how having less of one thing translates into a slew of more.

This morning, Saturday, I woke up before the sun was even up, but I was awake and alert. A cold I was battling has dissipated to a mere occasional sniffle. And I can’t believe how much time I have laid in front of me for the weekend. There’s plenty of things on my to do list, don’t get me wrong, but there’s also lots of time to get it done.

Leave a Reply

