Student Loans Suck: May Update

 I skipped last month’s update, I know. When I sat down to write the April update, the words just wouldn’t flow. I felt dejected, despite some good progress. Physically, I wasn’t doing great either, and it affected my mental and emotional state.

My goal for May was, vaguely, to feel good. And, in general, I’ve actually accomplished that this month. With the exceptions of a blimp at the end of the month, I have a consistent handle on my self-diagnosed lactose intolerance. Not dealing with constant, lingering stomachaches has vastly improved my quality of life.

So, a few updates:

Despite my resolve to not take too many expensive trips this summer, I’ve somehow managed to plan multiple weekends out of town. Dallas, Austin and Houston are all on the calendar as well as a late-summer visit from my family to Midland. I’m so excited to see so many friends and family members this summer, and it’s a great challenge in balance for me.

May and April were great months for student loans. In total for the two months, I paid a total of $4,830! Between working hard at my part-time job and taking on a freelance assignment that paid much better than expected, these past two months have rocked. I’m really proud of how far I’ve come since April 1 on this journey, and it’s incredibly encouraging to see my principal balance shrink so much in such a short amount of time.

When I started thinking about goals for June, it was hard to come up with a specific landmark or goal. If things go to plan, I should be able to get the balance under $3,000. Really, I want to use June to continue pushing forward, doing what I’ve been doing and just keep swimming!

Student Loan Principal As Of May 31: $4,860

One thought on “Student Loans Suck: May Update

  1. Pingback: Debt Free By 26 | megan unedited

Leave a Reply

