What Else?

What would you do if you were debt free?

Last week, it hit me: I will have paid off almost $30,000 in debt in 3.5 years, more than $16,000 in the past 12 months.

Indulge me in a little bit of bragging. I’m very proud of myself for what I’ve accomplished. This was the hardest things I’ve ever done.

And that’s when it hit me–if I can do this, what else can I accomplish?

The answer: anything I damned well please.

Paying off a lot of debt is a lot like getting in great shape and improving one’s health. The mindset shifts are almost identical.

  • Having a supportive community around you is vital. Having a plan and mini, short-term goals is also very important. Searching for motivation and finding (and hanging onto) your “why” needs to happen on a weekly, if not daily, basis.
  • People who become healthy and/or pay off debt ignore negative people, and they truly believe they can achieve their goals.
  • After all, goals are just dreams with deadlines. These people give themselves deadlines, and they hold themselves accountable.
  • Ultimately, and maybe most importantly, they know that success or failure is in their hands. It’s not dependent on anyone else around them. They take ownership of a project and tackle it fiercely.

I’m struggling to define my debt-free goals, but I know that I can apply so many things I’ve learned from this journey to the next thing. And whatever that next thing is, I know I can make it happen.

One thought on “What Else?

Leave a Reply

